DHS Library MembershipHow to find itemsHow to borrowArticle Requests & Literature SearchesCopyrightLibrary NewsletterDoH Library (Royal St) Services
DHS endorsed resourcesDoH Drug Information Guide
Contact DHS LibraryDental Health Training FeedbackGuide FeedbackSuggest a LinkContact DoH Library (Royal St)
This is the "Home" page of the "Dental Health Services Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dental Health Services Library Guide  

Sink your teeth into your Library: use the library to access a wealth of resources and services to assist you in your daily work straight from your desktop.
Last Updated: May 29, 2017 URL: http://health.wa.gov.au.campusguides.com/Dental Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to your Dental Health Services Library Guide
  
This guide has been especially designed to assist you to access the library resources and services available to you as Dental Health Services staff.  While all DHS staff are entitled to use the Department of Health Library at Royal St, you also have a dedicated Dental Library.
 
The DHS library holds an extensive collection of some 5,000 items, covering the most relevant areas of clinical dentistry, pathology, disease prevention, health education, public health and many non-clinical texts. In addition, the library also holds historical information, financial papers, government acts and gazettes, as well as,  CD-ROM’s and DVD’s on various subjects.

The library subscribes to many dental, medical, clinical, scientific and non-clinical journals. These are offered as an extensive online journal service for staff, as well as having many other organisations journals, newsletters and information packages in electronic and hard copy format. 

The library also maintains sets of reference works (dictionaries, year-books and atlas) and a collection of reports from WA and Commonwealth Government health agencies. In general, reference works are not available for loan but may be consulted in the library. 

The library has space for private research and a small number of computers set up for word processing and internet browsing, head-sets are available. A photocopier, scanner, DVD player and laser printer are also available.

 

 

Using the Guide

Navigation

  • Use the coloured tabs to access the guide resources & services
  • Use the search box to search within a particular guide or across all the guides  
  • Use the DoH Corporate library service home hyperlink to return to the DoH Corporate guides home page
  • Use the WA Health Libraries hyperlink to return to the DoH Corporate Library website
 

New Items

 

Cover Art
Color Atlas of Common Oral Diseases - Robert P. Langlais; Craig S. Miller
ISBN: 9781496332080
Publication Date: 2016-04-12
Featuring over 800 clear, high-quality photographs and radiographic illustrations, this fully updated 5th Edition of Color Atlas of Common Oral Diseases is designed throughout to help readers recognize and identify oral manifestations of local or systemic diseases. The new edition includes expanded and updated content and is enhanced by new images, new case studies, a stronger focus on national board exam prep, and more.   The book's easy-to-navigate, easy-to-learn-from standard format consists of two-page spreads that provide a narrative overview on one page with color illustrations on the facing page. To integrate oral diagnosis, medicine, pathology, and radiology, the overviews emphasize the clinical description of oral lesions, cover the nature of various disease processes, and provide a brief discussion of cause and treatment options.  Features: An increased focus on national exam preparation is reflected in end-of-chapter questions, entities, cases, and images. Differential Diagnosis Tables added to each section help students distinguish a particular disease or condition from others that have a similar appearance. Coverage of new entities, such as Radiopaque Lesions of the Jaw, have been added. Additional content on Facial & Neck Lesions has been added. A greatly expanded Radiographs section includes 30 new images and up-to-date content. Approximately 85 new images enhance the book's unparalleled photo and illustration program.  New Student Resources: Case Studies (five per chapter) expand students' opportunities to apply what they've learned to clinical situations. Select Disease Fact Sheets and an image bank. A reader-friendly organization presents clinical and radiographic features of common diseases found in the oral cavity according to location, color, surface change, and radiographic appearance. Chapter-opening learning objectives help students focus their studies by setting forth what they need to know after completing the chapter. Color-coded sections with tabs organize information into logical sections to help students locate information quickly. Highlighted key words draw student attention to important concepts. Case studies(80 in all) give students an opportunity to apply their knowledge to clinical situations and prepare  for the National Board Examinations. A comprehensive Glossary offers clear, simple definitions for key terms. Expanded instructors' resources and all-new student resources save instructors time and help students succeed. 

Cover Art
The Zero Waste Home - Kate Anderson
ISBN: 9781519358158
Publication Date: 2015-11-17
The Zero Waste Home101 Ways To Reduce Waste & Save Money In Your Home Living in a No-Waste Home is far easier than most people think and it doesn't just help the planet, it can also save you heaps of money! This book is designed to show you and your family how to create less waste and save money. It is laid out in an easy-to-follow format so you can get the information you want quickly and get into action! I have laid out 101 simple tips and tricks that can make a big difference to the environment and your wallet!

Cover Art
Deskbound - Kelly Starrett; Glen Cordoza (As told to); Juliet Starrett (As told to)
ISBN: 9781628600582
Publication Date: 2016-04-26
Sitting can wreak havoc on your health. Recent studies show that too much sitting contributes to a host of diseases - from obesity and diabetes to cancer and depression - and literally shortens your life. In Deskbound, Dr Kelly Starrett - author of Becoming a Supple Leopard (Victory Belt, 2015) - unveils how your sedentary lifestyle is killing you and, more important, what you can do to change it. Provides creative solutions to reduce the amount of time you spend perched on your backside, as well as strategies for the workplace that will improve your overall health.

Cover Art
Basic Guide to Oral Health Education and Promotion - Simon Felton; Alison Chapman
ISBN: 9781118629444
Publication Date: 2013-12-31
Step by step course companion for dental nurses studying for the Certificate in Oral Health Education. Topics covered include dental structures, anatomy and physiology, oral diseases and prevention, the principles of education, oral health and society, promoting oral health in the 21st century, patient communication, project planning and workplace assignments. This second edition has been thoroughly updated in line with the substantial changes to the role of the dental nurse since the 1st edition was published. To address this, a brand new section has been added on education and research.

Cover Art
Give Us a Smile, Cinderella! - Steve Smallman; Marcin Piwowarski (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781609927004
Publication Date: 2014-10-14
In Give Us a Smile, Cinderella! Poor Cinderella is never allowed a bath - so it's no surprise that she's so smelly! When the fairy godmother conjures up a bubble bath, Cinderella is transformed, just in time for the ball. Will her sparkling smile take her from rags to riches? This series is a welcome addition for parents looking for picture books with a message. Focusing on personal well-being, QEB aims to intertwine your favourite classic fairy tales with a twist on health, hygiene and nutrition. The Fairy Tales Gone Wrong series includes: Blow Your Nose, Big Bad Wolf (978-1-60992-708-0) Fall 2014; Eat Your Greens, Goldilocks (978-1-60992-707-3) Fall 2014; Take a Bath, Cinderella (978-1-60992-700-4) Fall 2014; Keep Running Gingerbread Man (978-1-60992-701-1) Fall 2014

Cover Art
Dental Materials - John M. Powers; John C. Wataha
ISBN: 9780323316378
Publication Date: 2016-01-25
Get an in-depth understanding of the dental materials and tasks that dental professionals encounter every day with Dental Materials: Foundations and Applications, 11th Edition.  Trusted for nearly 40 years, Powers and Wataha's text walks readers through the nature, categories, and uses of clinical and laboratory dental materials in use today. Increased coverage of foundational basics and clinical applications and an expanded art program help make complex content easier to grasp. If you're looking to effectively stay on top of the rapidly developing field of dental materials, look no further than this proven text. Comprehensive and cutting-edge content describes the latest materials commonly used in dental practice, including those in esthetics, ceramics, dental implants, and impressions. Approximately 500 illustrations and photographs make it easier to understand properties and differences in both materials and specific types of products. Review questions provide an excellent study tool with 20 to 30 self-test questions in each chapter. Quick Review boxes summarize the material in each chapter. Note boxes highlight key points and important terminology throughout the text. Key terms are bolded at their initial mention in the text and defined in the glossary. Expert authors are well recognized in the fields of dental materials, oral biomaterials, and restorative dentistry. A logical and consistent format sets up a solid foundation before progressing into discussions of specific materials, moving from the more common and simple applications such as composites to more specialized areas such as polymers and dental implants. Learning objectives in each chapter focus readers' attention on essential information. Supplemental readings in each chapter cite texts and journal articles for further research and study. Conversion Factors on the inside back cover provides a list of common metric conversions. NEW! Foundations and Applications subtitle emphasizes material basics and clinical applications to mirror the educational emphasis. NEW! More clinical photos and conceptual illustrations help bring often-complex material into context and facilitate comprehension.

Cover Art
Diagnosing Dental and Orofacial Pain - Alex J. Moule; M. Lamar Hicks (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118925003
Publication Date: 2016-11-14
Diagnosing Dental and Orofacial Pain: A Clinical Manual approaches a complex topic in a uniquely practical way. This text offers valuable advice on ways to observe and communicate effectively with patients in pain, how to analyze a patients' pain descriptions, and how to provide a proper diagnosis of orofacial pain problems that can arise from a myriad of sources--anywhere from teeth, joint and muscle pain, and paranasal sinuses to cluster headaches, neuralgias, neuropathic pain and viral infections. Helps the student and practitioner understand the diagnostic process by addressing the exact questions that need to be asked and then analyzing verbal and non-verbal responses to these Edited by experts with decades of clinical and teaching experience, and with contributions from international specialists Companion website provides additional learning materials including videos, case studies and further practical tips for examination and diagnosis Includes numerous color photographs and illustrations throughout to enhance text clarity

Cover Art
Cancer of the Oral Cavity, Pharynx and Larynx - Jesús Medina (Editor); Nilesh Vasan (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319186290
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
Written for residents and practitioners of otolaryngology, medical oncology, radiation oncology, and maxiollofacial surgery, this book provides the reader with a comprehensive, concise discussion of the best evidence available on which to base clinical decisions needed when managing patients with squamous cell carcinomas of the oral cavity, pharynx and larynx. Because of its accessible and practical format, this book is considerably different than other related titles on the market. Formatted with questions at the beginning of each chapter that are then answered with evidence and best practices available for each case, each chapter addresses situations the clinician is likely to face in the diagnostic evaluation and treatment of a patient with cancer of the head and neck. Most clinical decisions in the management of cancers of the head and neck region are based on the results of a few controlled, randomized clinical trial trials (Evidence Level I). However, most decision-making is based on the results of case-control studies (Evidence Level II), descriptive studies, reports of expert committees, or opinions of respected authorities (Evidence Level III). This information is scattered throughout the literature and often comingled with information about other topics. Therefore, there is a need for a publication in which the evidence pertinent to making decisions regarding a particular clinical problem is distilled from the literature and presented in a single concise, clinical, situation-driven source. Cancer of the Oral Cavity, Pharynx and Larynx: Evidence-Based Decision Making is just such a resource.

Cover Art
Atlas of the Human Body - Kanitta Meechubot (Illustrator); Vanessa Jessop
ISBN: 9781908714176
Publication Date: 2015-04-14
This large-format, beautifully presented book presents a journey through the human body both figuratively and literally. With exquisite, painstakingly detailed pencil illustrations by Kanitta Meechubot, the body is separated into layers on each page, and each layer is die-cut to show the layers underneath. As the pages are turned, young readers will find themselves traveling through the body in a way that will delight and inspire. In the second section of the book, text by ER doctor Vanessa Jessop explains the functions of the body's key organs in clear, accessible tones. Further illustrations accompany the text so that the heart, the lungs, the brain, the liver, etc., are all vividly brought to life. Harking back to anatomy atlases of the last century, the book has a classical simplicity to it, which is complemented by the clean, minimal design. Exquisite packaging sets it all off, including a fabric spine, a bold metallic cover, and creamy, heavy paper stock. A gorgeous gift book to keep and treasure. Kanitta Meechubot is a paper engineer and illustrator known for her intricate papercuts, which have been featured in numerous publications including the cover ofGranta magazine and a number of titles by Portobello Books.

Cover Art
Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis - Steven McGee
ISBN: 9780323392761
Publication Date: 2017-02-02
Fully updated from cover to cover, incorporating over 200 new studies on the evidence-based approach to diagnosis, the 4th Edition of Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis remains your go-to resource for guidance on interpreting physical signs, enabling you to determine the most appropriate physical finding to confirm a diagnosis. Internationally renowned author Dr. Steven McGee puts the most current evidence at your fingertips, allowing you to quickly compare all physical signs for a given diagnosis, understand their significance, and then select the most accurate ones. Includes a unique evidence-based calculator online that enables you to easily determine probability using likelihood ratios. Features a reader-friendly outline format, including dozens of "EBM boxes" and accompanying "EBM ruler" illustrations. Provides new evidence on the scientific value of many physical findings, including Cheyne-Stokes respirations, subclavian stenosis, fever of unknown origin, porto-pulmonary hypertension, localization of stroke, and many more. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. NEW two-color format improves readability and helps you find essential information faster. NEW Key Teaching Points at the beginning of every chapter, ideal for teachers of bedside medicine.

Cover Art
The Autoimmune Wellness Handbook - Mickey Trescott; Angie Alt
ISBN: 9781623367299
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
The way autoimmune disease is viewed and treated is undergoing a major change as an estimated 50 million Americans (and growing) suffer from these conditions. For many patients, the key to true wellness is in holistic treatment, although they might not know how to begin their journey to total recovery. In The AutoimmuneWellness Handbook, authors Mickey Trescott and Angie Alt, the trusted names behind Autoimmune-Paleo.com and authors of The Autoimmune Paleo Cookbook and The Alternative Autoimmune Cookbook, respectively, provide the comprehensive guide to living health fully with autoimmune disease. While conventional medicine is limited to medication oreven surgical fixes, Trescott and Alt introduce a complementary solution that focuses on seven key steps to recovery: inform, collaborate, nourish, rest, breathe, move, and connect. The steps are divided into user-friendly chapters that demystify the process and lead readers to optimum healing. With five autoimmune conditions between them, Trescott and Alt have achieved astounding results using the premises they've laid out in thebook. The Autoimmune Wellness Handbook goes well beyond nutrition and provides the missing link that the chronic illness community is desperately seeking so that they can get back to living a vibrant, healthy life.

Cover Art
Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry - Frank J. Dowd; Bart Johnson; Angelo Mariotti
ISBN: 9780323393072
Publication Date: 2016-09-27
Gain a complete understanding of drugs affecting patient care! Pharmacology and Therapeutics for Dentistry, 7th Edition describes how to evaluate a patient's health and optimize dental treatment by factoring in the drugs they take. It explores the basic principles of pharmacology, the ways that drugs affect the body, and the potential for adverse drug interactions. Developed by Frank Dowd, Barton Johnson, and Angelo Mariotti, with chapters from a team of expert contributors, this is the only book written by dental pharmacologists for the dental market. Whether you're concerned about the drugs a patient is already taking or the drugs you prescribe for treatment, this book helps you reduce risk and provide effective dental care. Concise, comprehensive coverage helps you provide safe and effective dental care, exploring the fundamentals of pharmacology and clearly explaining actions of specific drug groups on systems in the human body in addition to covering special topics such as pain control, fear and anxiety, and oral complications of cancer therapy.  An emphasis on the dental applications of pharmacology shows how to evaluate a patient's health and optimize dental treatment by factoring in any medications the patient may be taking. Practical appendices provide easy access to essential information, summarizing topics such as drug interactions in clinical dentistry, antiseptics and disinfectants, herbs, controlled substances, protein biopharmaceuticals, drugs used to treat glaucoma, and abbreviations. Clinical Rationale for and Significance of Prescription Writing chapter and two appendices on drug prescribing cover both the medications that a patient may already be taking and drugs that a dentist may prescribe for treatment. Nearly 50 expert contributors represent a diverse, authoritative panel of authors from many of the major dental schools. NEW! Reorganized content is more concise, more relevant, and more visual, with a stronger focus on what you need to know for clinical practice.  NEW! Case studies at the beginning of chapters and case discussions at the end help you connect pharmacologic concepts and principles with clinical practice. NEW summary tables and boxes provide quick reference to vital information, and include all-new tables on drug indications and mechanisms.  NEW! Full-color design and illustrations are added to this edition, enhancing realism and visual learning. NEW companion website provides references linked to PubMed. NEW! Bullet points list key information at the beginning of each chapter, highlighting need-to-know concepts.

Cover Art
Dental Caries - Edwina Kidd (Editor); Bente Nyvad (Editor); Ole Fejerskov
ISBN: 9781118935828
Publication Date: 2015-05-26
First published in 2003, Dental Caries: The Disease and its Clinical Management has become the leading resource on cariology. In this highly-anticipated new edition, the editors maintain the same focus on high-level coverage of the disease aetiology and process, clinical management best-practice, and wider public health issues connected with dental caries management, including an enhanced focus on the 'caries control concept'. The aim is to link theory with clinical performance, making prevention, diagnosis and restorative procedures evidence based. The structure of the book has been completely overhauled, with the same coverage streamlined in order to distil information effectively. The book is divided into six main sections: An overview of the disease and its prevalence The caries lesion and its biological determinants Diagnosis Controlling dental caries Operative intervention Caries control in special populations With contributions from international experts in research and clinical practice, the third edition of Dental Caries is an unrivalled guide to tooth decay, and a must-have resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students in restorative dentistry as well as all practitioners looking to develop their clinical skills.

Cover Art
Basic Guide to Dental Radiography - Tim Reynolds
ISBN: 9780470673126
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
Basic Guide to Dental Radiography provides an essential introduction to radiography in the dental practice. Illustrated throughout, this guide outlines and explains each topic in a clear and accessible style. Comprehensive coverage includes general physics, principles of image formation, digital image recording, equipment, biological effects of x-rays and legislation Suitable for the whole dental team  Illustrated in full colour throughout  Ideal for those completing mandatory CPD in radiography  Useful study guide for the NEBDN Certificate in Dental Radiography, the National Certificate in Radiography or the Level 3 Diploma in Dental Nursing

Cover Art
Living with It - Bev Aisbett
ISBN: 9780732295950
Publication Date: 2013-07-23
Panic attacks - approximately 5% of the population will experience them at some time or another. The dread of having an attack - they seemingly come out of nowhere - transforms the ordinary world of everyday life into a nightmare of anxiety and suffering. Author Bev Aisbett, a survivor of Panic Syndrome, has three basic messages: , * You can beat this, * You are not alone, * You will recover Originally published in 1993, this calm, commonsense guide has helped many thousands of panic attack sufferers to overcome their fears. Bev Aisbett explains how panic disorders develop and how to recognise the symptoms, and covers topics such as changing negative thought patterns, seeking professional help and, ultimately, the skills for recovery. Now fully revised and updated, LIVING WITH IT provides much-needed reassurance and support, showing the way out of the maze of panic with humour and the insight of first-hand experience.

Cover Art
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment - Mcphee Papadakis
ISBN: 9781259585111
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
This #1 annual internal medicine and clinical practice guide turns the latest research into improved patient outcomes - now fully updated and revised. Written by clinicians renowned in their respective fields, CMDT offers the most current insights into symptoms, signs, epidemiology, and treatment for more than 1,000 diseases and disorders. For each topic, you'll find concise, evidence-based information about hospital and ambulatory medicine. This streamlined clinical companion is the fastest and easiest way to keep abreast of the latest medical advances, prevention strategies, and cost-effective treatments. Here's why CMDT is an essential reference for any primary care setting: * Strong emphasis on the practical aspects of clinical diagnosis and patient management throughout the broad fields of internal medicine * Full review of internal medicine and additional primary care topics, such as gynecology and obstetrics, dermatology, neurology, ophthalmology, geriatrics, and palliative care * The only text with an annual update on HIV/AIDS and new emerging viral diseases * Specific disease prevention information * Medication treatment tables, with indexed trade names and updated prices - plus helpful diagnostic and treatment algorithms * Updated PMID numbers for quick reference * Many full-color photographs and illustrations Here are just a few of the many exciting new additions and updates: * New information on Zika, dengue, chikungunya, MERS and other infections * Two new online chapters: Lesbian & Bisexual Women's Health and Transgender Health & Disease Prevention * Update on influenza pneumococcal, HPV, and meningococcal vaccines * Latest information on new therapies for inflammatory bowel disease * Revised recommendations for cardiovascular prevention methods * Recent advances in diagnosis and treatment of Clostridium difficile infections * New FDA approved medications for diabetes mellitus and hypercholesterolemia * Extensively revised material on alcoholism * Latest information on treatment options for obesity * Expanded online Podiatry chapter  

Cover Art
My IPad for Seniors - Michael Miller
ISBN: 9780789757937
Publication Date: 2016-11-14
Covers iOS 10 for all models of iPad Air, iPad Mini, iPad Pro, and iPad 4th generation My iPad for Seniors, 4th Edition, is a comprehensive guide to using all of Apple's iPad models. It includes everything from basic setup information to finding and installing new apps to using the iPad for communication, entertainment, and productivity. The information presented in this book is targeted at users aged 50 and up; whenever possible, one best way for any given task is presented, and instructions are simplified with older users in mind. In addition, much  content specific for people 50+ is included. Step-by-step instructions for the tasks you care about most Large, full-color, close-up photos show you exactly what to do Common-sense help whenever you run into problems Tips and notes to help you get the most from your iPad Learn how to: Connect your iPad to the Internet via Wi-Fi Personalize the way your iPad looks and works Make your iPad easier to use if you have trouble seeing or tapping the screen Make the data on your iPad more secure with fingerprint login Control frequently used settings with your iPad's Control Center Browse and search the Internet with Safari Use Siri's voice commands to control your iPad and find useful information Find fun and useful apps and games in Apple's App Store Communicate with friends and family via email, text messaging, and FaceTime video chats Shoot, share, and view photos and videos Listen to music and watch movies and TV shows over the Internet Share music and videos with other devices via AirDrop and AirPlay Use iCloud to store and share your photos and other important data online Discover the most popular health, travel, and productivity apps Troubleshoot common iPad problems  

Cover Art
Mastering the Skills of Journal Writing and Publication - Sharon A. Gutman
ISBN: 9781630913342
Publication Date: 2016-09-15
The ability to demonstrate that a specific health care profession provides valuable and effective services that meet society's health needs is a major objective for all health care academicians and researchers. Such skills are critical to ensure service reimbursement from an increasingly small pool of health care dollars. Demonstrating clinical effectiveness depends on the reporting of written research results through journal publication so that the health care community and larger society will be able to access and read evidence supporting health care services.   Today, several clinical reporting standard guidelines have been created by researchers to enhance the ability of readers to evaluate the quality and value of studies. Journal Article Writing and Publication is the first text to compile those clinical research reporting standards in one source and helps educators and novice researchers to better understand the skills needed for journal publication. Health care researchers must begin using these reporting standards in order to write manuscripts that are both correctly formatted and transparently convey all critical study strengths and limitations. Educators must teach these reporting standards to students who must evaluate research reports as consumers and possible future contributors to the literature through their own writing.   Journal Article Writing and Publication by Dr. Sharon A. Gutman (a former editor of the American Journal of Occupational Therapy) provides specific guidelines, based on the most commonly accepted reporting standards, for the preparation and writing of general research studies, intervention effectiveness studies, instrument development and testing studies, and case reports. A section is devoted to helping authors understand the rules governing the reporting of statistical data in text and tables. Separate sections help authors understand the manuscript preparation and submission process, the revision process, and the etiquette guiding communication with editors and reviewers. Guidelines for the preparation of scholarly discussion papers and editorials are also provided.   Journal Article Writing and Publication also features a section that aims to help doctoral students and newly minted faculty turn academic work and dissertations into publishable journal articles. Suggestions are provided to help clinicians turn clinical data into research databases that could serve as the foundation for pilot studies. Finally, information is provided to help authors better understand the ethical considerations of publication including plagiarism, dual submissions, inappropriate authorship, copyright, and conflict of interest.    

Cover Art
The FastDiet - Revised and Updated - Michael Mosley; Mimi Spencer
ISBN: 9781501102011
Publication Date: 2015-01-06
From Dr. Michael Mosley, author of The 8-Week Blood Sugar Diet, and Mimi Spencer comes a revised and updated edition of the #1 New York Times bestseller The FastDiet, complete with new science, recipes, and tips for easy fasting! Is it possible to eat normally—five days a week—and become slimmer and healthier as a result? Simple answer: yes. You just limit your calorie intake for two nonconsecutive days each week—500 calories for women, 600 for men. You’ll lose weight quickly and effortlessly with The FastDiet. Scientific trials have shown that intermittent fasting will help the pounds fly off and reduce your risk of diseases, including diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and even cancer, offering a dietary program you can incorporate into your busy daily life. This revised and updated edition of the #1 New York Times bestseller features: -More quick and easy fast day recipes -A new section on the psychology of dieting -The latest research on the science behind the program -Dozens of new testimonials Far from being just another fad, The FastDiet is a radical new way of thinking—your indispensable guide to simple and effective weight loss, without fuss or the need to endlessly deprive yourself.

Cover Art
Social Determinants of Health - Alan Davidson
ISBN: 9780199005406
Publication Date: 2015-01-27
Social Determinants of Health: A Comparative Approach introduces the various elements that determine the health of individuals in their communities. The text takes a macro-level approach, focusing on population health rather than strictly on individual health. Social Determinants of Health focuses on "Anglo-American" countries-Canada, the United States, the United Kingdom, and Australia-examining the commonalities and differences socially, economically, and politically.The text begins by outlining the background, theory, and evidence for a population health perspective. This is followed by discussion of environmental factors, such as employment, housing, and diet, and social factors such as gender, support and well-being, and being an Aboriginal person. The text concludes with an overview of the social patterning of health-relevant behaviour and the politics of health-related policy. Written in an accessible manner, Social Determinants of Health further engages students by offering case studies and "Pause and Reflect" boxes, as well as end-of-chapter questions, suggested readings, and websites.

Cover Art
Working with Millennials - Marc Robertson
ISBN: 9781440844126
Publication Date: 2016-02-12
This book directly addresses the issues and problems that leaders face in today's business environment-and provides tangible and usable techniques to overcome these challenges. * Offers information that benefits both managers of Millennial employees and Millennials themselves * Provides proven techniques for overcoming the issues confronting managers and leaders-strategies that have worked successfully in the real world * Presents case studies that document specific management and leadership issues or show how techniques or skills were applied to resolve the situation * Teaches humanistic leadership and the benefit of valuing people * Trains new managers on the leadership skills needed to instill the confidence that will enable them to immediately earn the trust and respect of their teams

Dental Health Services

Profile Image
Dental Library
Contact Info
Judith Cargill

43 Mt Henry Road
COMO WA 6152

Locked Bag 15
BENTLEY DELIVERY CENTRE WA 6983

PH: +61 (08) 9313 0610
FAX: +61 (08) 9313 4141

Opening hours: M-F 8-4.30pm
Send Email

DoH Library (Royal St)

Hours: M-F 8.30am-5.00pm

E-mail: doh.library@health.wa.gov.au

Web: http://www.library.health.wa.gov.au/corporate/

Ph:   9222 4313

Fax: 9222 4343

Address:
Library Services
WA Dept of Health
Ground Floor, B Block
189 Royal St
EAST PERTH WA 6004
      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip